strawberrydare

Aside

Posted on: June 3, 2013

Dare #1: A full working day as a cleaner at a local supermarket

We all have a certain job that we have told ourselves we’d never be caught doing, dead or alive. It’s either because it does not measure up to our standards, involves too much work, the hours are too long, we have to get our hands dirty, we wouldn’t look good in the attire, or as nasty as it may sound we think we are just too good to be doing such. In my case that job is cleaning.

I decided to put my pride and all the stereotypes aside this past weekend as I dared myself to work a full 8 hour day as a cleaner at a local Spar in Pretoria. My day as a cleaner began at 8am on Saturday after I had tried talking myself out of it several times. I spent the day working alongside one of the cleaners and my goodness was it not easy. At first I thought what could possibly be difficult about holding a mop and broom for a couple of hours? This was my fist mistake, I was actually going to have to use the mop and broom and it was not just a couple of hours, it was 8 hours, 480 minutes.

As the day progressed I kept doing the same thing within the same isles over and over again making sure there were no stains that went unnoticed. Business was continuing as usual, customers walking in and out stepping on the areas I had beeeeeeeeeeeeeen cleaning, not taking note of my existence or what I was doing as they placed their size 11 shoe prints all over my floor. At some point I just wished all the customers could fly around the store and carry the trolley on their shoulders.

ATTENTION ALL CUSTOMERS: When we place the wet floor sign on the floor, it is for your safety and most importantly it means the floor I am trying to clean is still WET.

IMAG4311

Working here opened my eyes to many things, other than the wet floor sign that I had been oblivious to. When people work in career fields such as cleaning it is not always by choice but because of certain circumstances in life which were far beyond their control. Opportunities that you have been privileged to have, they only dream of having. The jobs they do make a huge contribution to the success of a brand and how it is perceived by the general public. This local Spar would not have been known for its cleanliness if it weren’t for the cleaners with their mops and brooms. They are not invisible so from time to time say hello, acknowledge what they do,  it makes a difference.

IMAG4309

Strawberryshare: the next time you think any job is easy and insignificant, try walking in those shoes.

Dare #1: A full working day as a

17 Responses to "Dare #1: A full working day as a"

It takes a lot of courage to do what u did, and it shows that u are a caring person to actually put urself in somebody else’s shoe. U weren’t just fitting any shoe, but one that everyone wouldn’t want to be in. Sínce r so brave, May I dare u to go to fear factor? Lol!

lol, thank you. As for going on Fear Factor, I’ll work on it, still need to prepare myself emotionally. lol

Zee, I’m humbled by what you did, very often we think these jobs beneath us and even though we show respect by greeting at times etc. we tend to treat these helpers as invisible people. I think in short, the respect we give each other shouldn’t be parallel to a job profile we may hold. I believe everyone deserves the same respect and acknowledgement you would give a CEO of a company you dream of working for. Everyone deserves and has a right to be treated with such respect: until they show you they deserve different. Well done skatie, will keep checking out your blog for interesting posts, you’ve set the bar..we patiently anticipate your next post.👏👏👏

Thank you so much Gladiola, your feedback and vote of confidence is highly appreciated. I hope everyone gets to see and understand that respect and acknowledgement does not occupy any position of status and that the people we may perceive as tiny actually make a rather huge impact.

Wow girl not a lot of people would do what you did. #TouchedForYears

I’m glad it had an impact, this type of feedback gives me hope that people’s perceptions will change. Thank you

Cassiopa Zee you are an inspiration and you really are a very special person, you are humble as ever without a trace of conceit and for that God will bless you abundantly.

What a huge task to take on, props to you Zee! This is really inspirational

WOW what you did was really awesome hey, caps, hats, earrings lol konke off to you and the blog. Loving the dare concept it really is amazing. WELL DONE ZEE

They say that you can never judge a person if you never walked in their shoes and most of the time as people we tend to look down on other people because they look more beneath us…and not in our caliber…thats a great journey of knowing a person…like they say ka sepedi tseba motho… u did that and may god bless u for that zee>>>>

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Zithobile: Wow, thank you so much Nancy. You have no idea how big of a difference that message made. Everyday I'm learning what it means to not lean on my own un
  • Nancy Fisher: Ok you don't know me. I have never run across you or your picture before. I just wanted you to know when I saw your picture, to tell you how beautiful
  • Gavaza: WOW, this genuinely touched me, there's a story behind each and every one of us. May God continue to use you to bless others Friend.

Categories

Archives

